The Miller’s House Museum is dedicated to interpreting the industrial & transportation history of the Lexington area by celebrating the roads, rivers and rails that served a now extinct industrial complex on Jordan’s Point north of the city. The Miller’s House, built in the early 1800s, is the only remaining structure at this once vibrant area developed by John Jordan, who operated a furnace, a forge and the covered toll bridge that spanned the North (Maury) River. The area was served by the Great Wagon Road bringing thousands of immigrants from the northern states to settle in Tennessee and the Carolina’s. Daniel Boone used this road many times. Commerce to the east was facilitated first by batteaux and then canal boats providing access to markets in Richmond and beyond. The railroads came in the 1880’s replacing the canal going east and opening markets to the north through Staunton, Harrisonburg and beyond.
For more information about the history of Jordan's Point, please click the PDF icon.